John McCain’s blog

John McCain, or at least his Web site manager, thanked a woman named Melanie from Columbia on his blog for writing him about his Monday visit. Below is the blog entry:

Letter From a Supporter 

I wanted to take a moment and post, with her permission, an email we recieved from a supporter after a McCain event in Missouri. Thank you Melanie for your support, it is because of the support and activism of people like you that keeps this country great. Thank you for fighting for a better America.                              I had the honor to be seated right beside Senator John McCain today for an informal lunch in Columbia, Missouri. I can tell you that he is the real deal. We had an opportunity to ask him questions, share a few laughs and provide him with insight from fellow Americans. He listened, he provided us with real answers and I truly believe he not only has the experience and the right plan but also a big heart for America. The media was present when he first entered the room and then were asked to leave as we had lunch with him. He wasn’t interested in pandering to the media. He instead wanted to spend time with the people. If you want to know his answers to questions regarding the economy, support of small businesses, job creation, national security, education funding, etc. let me know. I got the answers I needed. John McCain is the right choice.

I have voted on both sides of the fence in the past, Democrat and Republican. I know what it’s like to only have $30 to my name. I know what it’s like to work hard to get a job. It took me 3 years to get the job I wanted as a teacher. I know what it’s like to start a business from absolutely nothing. And I know what it’s like to pay student loans for 15 years. Why? Because I believe in opportunity. I didn’t ask for a hand-out. I just wanted the opportunity to use my skills, to help others and to provide for my family. Sound familiar to the rest of you? I bet we all have similar stories. America is a country of endless opportunities. We are not a country of hand-outs. We are a country of leg-ups. People…get the word out…we need a leader that has had more than 144 days of experience in the U.S. Senate. You are as good as your word. But actions speak louder than words. Honor, Honesty, Hard Work should matter… must matter.

Melanie
Columbia, Missouri

 

As of now there are 1,411 comments to this entry.

Leave a Reply

