Crickets at Memorial Union, Crowds at Life Sciences Center

Hello Watchword viewers and happy Election Day!

My day began at 4:55 a.m., when I rolled out of bed and made a weak attempt to look presentable today. My assignment was to hang out at the Memorial Union polling location on campus and get voter quotes as well as gather info for a student voter story I’m working on.

At a little before 6:00 a.m., I arrived at Memorial Union, and talked to a whopping two student voters. Two. The good news is that if your polling location is Memorial Union, you won’t have to wait long at all to vote, and your ballot won’t get shredded, as they haven’t experienced any systematic problems. The bad news is that, as of 8:15 a.m., Memorial Union has only had 84 voters.

Then, a little birdie told me that there were huge crowds of voters at the Life Sciences Center! I rushed over to see for myself, and found that a little north of 230 voters had cast ballots as of 7:15 a.m. Great numbers indeed! The voting at Life Sciences is going relatively smoothly as well, no long lines, no hassels, etc.

I will check back in for updates later. Get to votin’!

***

Well, Watchword viewers, I have been “awake” now for almost 14 hours, and it’s only 6 p.m. The action hasn’t even started, but I feel a second wind coming on.

What I have really enjoyed about this whole experience is that I got to experience Election Day without even voting (relax, I voted a month ago by absentee ballot)… well, you know what I mean.

But it really is amazing to take in the action from a different point of view. I’ve talked to so many people today and they’ve each had something different and meaningful to say. It’s one thing to report a candidate winning the race. It’s another to sit with someone for five minutes and have them explain why the love this candidate, or why they’ve been volunteering for hours, days, months, to elect them into office.

Enough of that, though.

On a lighter note, my joy was almost crushed this afternoon when I remembered that I had forgotten to update my permit in Hitt St. Garage (you can charge a set amount to your student ID and get a temp ticket). But I was so excited to see that the meter cops hadn’t given me a ticket. A lucky day indeed!

Hopefully I will be able to blog more tonight. Check back for updates.

***

Tonight on my way home from the newsroom (…and then back to the newsroom) I heard someone say on 105.5 KZZT that whoever was to be elected the next president, America should fully support him. And there was an unintentional emphasis on the word “him.” And I thought that it would be cool if he could say “him or her,” if there was a woman candidate for president.

Cut to tonight, a few minutes ago. Obama delivers his acceptance speech and devotes a good portion of time to talk about Ann Nixon Cooper. How cool is it to be Ann Nixon Cooper right now?

2 Responses

  1. There are no voters assigned to Memorial Union, it is a “catch-all” polling location. That’s probably why there were so few people there.

  2. As of 10:00 AM, Campus Lutheran Church had received 488 votes…about 50 people lined up before 6 AM when polls opened.

Leave a Reply

