The Race Around the World: Reaction

From Lachlan Mackinnon, an English poet: “I suppose this has been the most exciting election since 1968, but in how changed a landscape. A result impossible then has now happened. I had tears in my eyes when the election was at last called. I now hear Virginia has turned blue– because of Richmond and what it means, I’m glad. I  know this changes none of the problems the US and the world face, and I feel very sorry for the President-elect about his inheritance, but there is also a deep joy. It isn’t just, as McCain said, the evidence that the USA is a land of opportunity, but the message the rest of the world will see.”

Leave a Reply

