Cosmo Park: A regional resource?

I went to Cosmo Park this morning to interview folks for an upcoming story, and I noticed something unexpected: Almost everyone I talked to hailed from somewhere other than Columbia.

Families I met at the playground said they came from as far away from St. Louis and from nearby towns like Harrisburg and Pilot Grove (west of Boonville). It was a challenge to find anyone from Columbia at all. A few of the folks I talked to were in town for business or other reasons, but some had come just to enjoy Cosmo park.

I can’t imagine that this morning’s turnout was typical, but I still find it interesting that a city-funded local park pulls in folks from such a large area. In the future, I’ll try to keep in mind that the activities of the Columbia Parks and Recreation Department affect folks from all over mid-Missouri and beyond.

Leave a Reply

