Tonight, I met one of my heroes

The name matched, but I wasn’t sure it was him. It seemed too good to be true.

Could this man, this local legend, really be there, at the League of Women Voters candidate forum? In the same room, breathing the same air as I was?

I didn’t know for sure until I chased him down afterward and heard his views on government.

I was in the presence of the one and only John Schultz.

When he spelled his name, I half expected Charles Dudley Jr. to pop up out of nowhere and add “chairman of the Libertarian Party of Boone County.”

I went weak in the knees. I felt like a 12-year-old girl meeting New Kids on the Block. In 1992. At the height of their powers.

John was certainly at the height of his.

I struggled to hide my enthusiasm, but I think he noticed anyway.

In recent months, I’ve almost spent more time listening to the opinions, conjectures and rants of serial commenters like Schultz and Dudley than I have my own wife, not that she ever rants, of course. It might be difficult for someone outside the Missourian to understand what a memorable experience it was meet one of them in the flesh.

I can die happy now that have confirmation that John Schultz, chairman of the Boone County Libertarian Party, exists outside of the Internet.

I’ll never forget that three-minute encounter outside the Columbia Public Library.

Now I have a face to put with the posts. He’s a software tester! With a firm handshake! If I remember right, he’s bigger than I am and sports a well-trimmed goatee. He had to go somewhere to pick his kids up!

Nice meeting you, John! I doubt you were nearly as stoked as I was.

2 Responses

  1. Hi Andrew, nope, not me, must have been my evil doppelganger ala Twin Peaks (also circa 1992 I think).

    OK, it was me, and thanks for the kind words.

  2. I don’t always agree with John but I always learn something when he posts.

    Thank you, John, for continuing thoughtful discussion on issues we all care about.

    Andrew, there is a fine line between sarcasm and humor and you have found the humor side. Keep going in that mode. We need more posts like yours.

Leave a Reply

