Some context on the KOMU layoffs

An editor brought to my attention that, in my April 29 story about layoffs at MU’s KOMU-TV, I did not include any numbers on the station’s total amount of employees. Without those numbers, of course, the news that four employees were being laid off and that another was losing some hours and benefits, is difficult to fit into the larger picture.

I’m embarassed to admit that a general idea of those larger numbers is quite easy to come by, and that it simply didn’t occur to me to share it with y’all. KOMU’s contact page currently lists 44 employees, including five in the production department where the layoffs occurred. When I first checked the page, immediately after the layoffs, I counted nine production employees listed, for a total of 48.

Some quick math indicates that the layoffs thus removed a little over 8 percent of the station’s workforce, though the actual savings may have been larger, given that I did not account for any reductions of hours for employees still on the payroll.

Leave a Reply

