The other Karen Miller

Photo by Alexandria Baca

All you savvy Watchword readers know that the Boone County District 1 Commissioner is Karen Miller.

Did you know that it’s my name, too?

Lately whenever I go out, the people always shout, there goes…. well actually I’ve only been here six weeks so most people have no clue who I am.

Yesterday the Missourian’s Public Life beat had a meet and greet with the county commissioners before their regular meeting. I had been looking forward to meeting the woman who shares my name, but sadly, she was unable to attend.

Thank God I was there to fill in for her.

That’s right, yesterday I filled in for a District 1 Commissioner at an official meeting. The other two members on the commission thought it was so funny that a local government reporter shared the name of a local government official that they invited me to sit in her big, squishy swivel chair during the meeting. Of course, I couldn’t say anything. And I really did want to at least vote aye or nay once.

Sitting up there was fun, but I think I prefer sitting my notepad and recorder on the other side of the table.

And if Karen Miller gets a Google alert about this post, well, I’d like to say that I’d love to meet you sometime.

Leave a Reply

