Baker: “It’s time to take care of our own”

State Rep. Judy Baker (D-Columbia) today released the second TV ad in her campaign for the Ninth District seat in the U.S. House of Representatives.

The ad covers a range of issues, including improving the economy, lowering gas prices and withdrawing troops from Iraq.

Continue reading

Columbia Regional Airport update

Thumbing through a notebook this afternoon, I realized I missed reporting some airport information out to you, our faithful online reader. The information comes from last week’s Airport Advisory Board meeting at Columbia Regional Airport. 

After attending the board meeting on Wednesday, I scrambled the next two days to find out the time, place and content of conversations between a representative from Northwest Airlines and Columbia businesses that have a stake in the city’s incoming commercial air service. The full version of that story can be found here.

Following it led me away from some of the other facts I gathered at the meeting. I’ve appended them to this post. And I hope they serve you in some way and help us have a conversation about all things related to the airport. Continue reading